Péter Gyúrós, Former Sales Director, Wellis Hungary

  • 13 Jun 2023 1:42 PM
Péter Gyúrós, Former Sales Director, Wellis Hungary
You may not know that Europe’s largest hot tub manaufacturer is Wellis, a Hungarian company. And it is the job of Peter Gyuros to ensure that these products are sold in good numbers across Europe, the Middle-East and North-Africa.

In this capacity he manages an international team based in various locations across Europe and he also travels a lot to be in touch with Wellis customers such as hot tub dealers, distributors or DIY stores.

Previously Peter worked for Shell, the oil and energy company. He held various commercial and marketing roles first in Hungary and than with wither geographical responsibility. Among others he managed Shell’s Clubsmart loyalty program or later its shop business in Central and Eastern Europe.

He lives in Budapest with his wife and two teenage sons. He is an active member of the Hungarian Association of Executives. Earlier he served on the Council of the British Chamber of Commerce in Hungary.

1. Where did you grow up?

I was born in Budapest but soon after we moved to Szigetszentmiklós, a suburb town of the capital. I ived there until I moved back to Budapest during my university years.

2. If you could be an expat anywhere in the world, where would you choose?

Italy. Buautiful cities and nature, great cusine, kind people – quite a good combination! And also close to Hungary so visiting home would not be a big hassle.

3. What would you miss most if you moved away from Hungary?

Friends and family. No question.

4. Friends are in Budapest for a weekend - what must they absolutely see and do?

Start with the “must see” attractions like the Buda Castle, Parlament buliding and a walk downtown. Continue with a tasting of Hungarian wines and food in one of the great restaurants. Next day just relax on the Margaret Island or in the hills on the Buda side.

5. What is your favourite food?

There are two favourites. One is steak, the other is the Hungarian “brassói” prepared by my mom.

6. What is your favourite sport / form of exercise?

I run regularly to stay healthy. And I very much enjoy watching Formula 1 or international football with my older son.

7. What is your favourite place in Hungary?

The north of Balaton. I love the lake itself, the hills, the wineries and the good places to eat. Spending there a week or two is very relaxing.

8. What career other than yours would you love to pursue?

I can easily see myself as a university professor. I believe I would enjoy teaching. And who knows, mybe in some shape or form I will still get the chance to do it!

9. What’s a job you would definitely never want?

Any job where I could not find good people to work with. No workplace is perfect, but it is vital to me in a job to find colleagues with whom we can inspire each other and strive together for the success of our company.

10. Where did you spend your last vacation?

We spent a long weekend with friends and our families in Szabadka (Subotica, Serbia), the hometown of my wife. Very intersting town and the wonderful townhall is a must see.

11. Where do you hope to spend your next one?

We’ll be going to Rome with the family. Especially our younger son is very intersted in history so it will be great to see such a historic city.

12. What was your favourite band, film, or hobby as a teen?

I grew up with rock music, and the my biggest favourite was Queen, closely followed by Metallica. Still among the greatest ones for me.

13. Apart of temptation what can't you resist?

A really good steak.

14. Red wine or white?

I love both, but if a choice has to be made than white wine, especially riesling.

15. Book or movie?

I used to be a book-worm but now it is probably 50-50 among books and movies / TV series.

16. Morning person or night person?

I am more effective in the morning hours.

17. Which social issue do you feel most strongly about?

The situation of children in need. It is really heartbreaking to see how many of them do not get proper food, housing, let alone education.

18. Buda or Pest side?

I live in Buda and I love it. But if lived in the Pest side I’d probably say the same. it is one city, I do not feel like having to choose between the two sides of the river.

19. Which achievement in your life are you most pleased about?

Having two great sons. They are the most important to me.

20. What would you say is your personal motto? 

“The harder I work, the luckier I get” – I heard this from an experienced colleague at Shell and find it quite true.

  • How does this interview make you feel?