Zsuzsa Pászka, Owner, Pászka & Partners Insurance Brokers

  • 27 Nov 2018 5:05 PM
Zsuzsa Pászka, Owner, Pászka & Partners Insurance Brokers
Several experiences of longer or shorter periods abroad (England, Greece, Italy) made it possible to understand the life of expats, that feeling of  uncertainty, being far away from families and friends.

I faced the usual questions. How to adapt to local societies? What to discover? What is sometimes hidden even for native people?  What kinds of programmes or facilities are granted to learn to live better, and are worth incorporating into daily life.

My profession, insurance intermediation, is a typically experience-based business.

It is exciting to see it from several aspects. I’ve been on the Board of the Association of Insurance Brokers of Hungary for 11 years. I spent another 10 years on the board of the Italian Chamber of Commerce where local Italian investors’ interests are followed.

Now, my  focus is  on  expats to support them finding the proper insurance coverage, both on a corporate and on an individual level, through understanding their activities and needs .

I am the proud mother of two daughters, and four grandchildren.

1. Where did you grow up?
I grew up in Hungary but attended school in London for a year. It was an experience which affected my future quite a lot. Another important 8-year period of my life was in Italy, when I was already grown up.

2. If you could be an expat anywhere in the world, where would you choose?
I would definitely choose a Mediterranean country, with a sea nearby, all year sunshine and fish food.

3. What would you miss most if you moved away from Hungary?
Speaking several languages still does not make me easy to understand. I can’t express the nuances to enjoy communication at the level of a mother tongue.

4. Friends are in Budapest for a weekend. What must they absolutely see and do?
They should try to satisfy several senses: long walks in parts of the city not in  the  guidebooks; a few hours at a day spa; meals in a small restaurant with calm music.

5. What is your favourite food?
Anything colourful and delicate.

6. What is  your favourite sport/form of exercise?
Yoga and squash.

7. What is your favourite place in Hungary?
North Balaton and the Káli basin.

8. What career other than yours would you love to pursue?
To run a private school or organizing activities for children, focusing on art and other mind opening themes. 

9. What job you would definitely never want?
Anything boring or monotonous.

10. Where did you spend your last vacation?
Mostly at Csopak, quiet enough if needed, and near enough to Balatonfüred.

11. Where do you hope to spend your next one?
I’m just planning a tour of Asia.

12. What was your favourite band, film, or hobby as a teen?
Romantic music and films.

13. Apart from temptation, what can’t you resist?
Cubed chocolate, chocolate balls, filled chocolate, plain chocolate, milk chocolate, dark chocolate…

14. Red wine or white?
Generally red, except in summer.

15. Book or movie?
Book when I am relaxed, movie if I want to be enchanted.

16. Morning person or night person?
Night; it is longer than a morning.

17. Which social issue do you feel most strongly about?
Vulnerable people in hopeless situations.

18. Buda or Pest side?
 Living is calm in Buda, while the majority of interesting events take place in Pest: theatres, concerts, films.

 19. Which achievements in your life are you most pleased about?
Achieving harmony in both my family life and at work.

20. What would you say is your personal motto?
Be curious about how to feel, live, and work better and better. 
(Never stop being curious about new achivements: how to  improve your personal condition and skills which will positively effect not only you and your family’s life, but  also your company. Keep an eye open  how to do something for a better world. )

  • How does this interview make you feel?