Invitation: Wine & Music Gala Concert, Budapest, 30 December

  • 29 Dec 2012 6:40 AM
Invitation: Wine & Music Gala Concert, Budapest, 30 December
It has become a tradition for the “Hundred Member” Gipsy Orchestra to give a gala concert on December the 30th. The audience will get the chance to hear the pieces of Liszt, Brahms, Strauss and Khachaturian in the interpretation of outstanding musicians.

The worldwide unique “Hundred Member” Gipsy Orchestra was founded in 1985. Those establishing the Orchestra aimed to unite the best of the famous musician dynasties and to ensure a place and workshop for them, their offspring and other talented young musicians. Saving the traditions of Gipsy and Hungarian folk music, the survival of classical folk music through performing it within the repertoire are among the main goals of the Orchestra. These outstanding musicians and first violins, thanks to their high qualification and the everlasting beauty of Gipsy music.

Next to the repertoire of Gipsy and Hungarian music, they offer popular pieces of the notables of international classical music as well. With its art, the Orchestra is hoping to build a bridge between minority and majority, undertaking its own differences, saving their values to enrich the colorful palette of European culture. With their music the Orchestra finds its way to the very hearts of their audience at all times and all places. enrich the colorful palette of European culture.

Date: December 30, 2012
Venue: Budapest Congress Center
Address: 1124 Budapest, Jagelló str. 1–3.

Opening: 6 pm


6.15 pm – 6.45 pm Wine-tasting and folk dance show
7 pm Concert, Part 1
Khachaturian: Sword Dance
Brahms: Hungarian Dances No. 5
Hubay: Wavering Balaton
Erkel: Hungarian Court Dance
Monti: Czardas
Horváth: Gipsy Fire
Unknown composer: Cimbalom solo
Rossini: William Tell – Overture
Bizet: Carmen

8 pm interval

8.20 pm Concert, Part 2
J. Strauss: The bat – overture
J. Strauss: Lightning and thunder (polka)
Brahms: Hungarian Dances No. 1
Tchaikovsky: Waltz of the flowers
J. Strauss: Long live the Magyar! (polka)
Liszt: Hungarian Rhapsody No. 2
Dinicu: The Lark
J. Strauss: Radetczky March
Offenbach: Orpheus in the underworld – Can-can


Ground floor
– at 8 personed round table with dinner: 110 EUR
– at 6 personed table with wine tasting & salty snacks: 68 EUR

– 1st–4th row with wine-tasting: 53 EUR
– 5th–9th row with wine-tasting: 44 EUR

Check out the menu by clicking here

Source and tickets:

  • How does this content make you feel?