Ksenia Wallenstein, Ceramic Artist

  • 17 May 2021 3:58 PM
Ksenia Wallenstein, Ceramic Artist
Independent ceramic artist born in Russia, Bogorodsk with focus on unique tableware and interior objects. Ksenia works mostly with naked clay bodies and natural colours; her works can be find in restaurants and coffee houses all over the world, in private collections and European museums.

Click here to see her works

1. When did you arrive in Hungary and what brought you here? 

Love brought me here, my husband is Hungarian. I moved to Budapest 7 years ago. 

2. Have you ever been an expatriate elsewhere?

After moving to Hungary I and my family decided to live for a while in the USA . We spent 2 years there and I can definitely say that every country gets specific flavour from expats. 

3. What surprised you most about Hungary?

Speed. Somehow in Russia everything is super fast - renovation, service, selling/buying things. Here in Hungary people live like they have one hundred lives. There is some magic about this lifestyle of course, but for me it is still a big surprise .

4. Friends are in Budapest for a weekend - what must they absolutely see and do? 

I would focus on architecture. I know codes from some old houses and you can sneak and see all these beautiful yards. I like Budapest's combination of Bauhaus and art deco styles. My second choice would be a bike tour through Varosliget with stops at museums and finishing at Margaret island. 

5. What is your favourite Hungarian food?

To tell the truth, Hungarian food for me is super heavy and fat. I prefer light dishes, with a lot of greens, veggies and fish. So lets say I can eat one langos per year, but that is all. 

6. What is never missing from your refrigerator?

I have 2 little kids, so just things they like - milk, Túró Rudi and salami. 

7. What is your favourite Hungarian word?

Kuckó. We don't have in Russian one solid word to define a cozy place and I like that Hungarian does. 

8. What do you miss most from home? 

Language and friends. And also something that is difficult to put into words - let's say scale. When you come from a huge country with a lot of nations and start to live in a small country (though Hungarians will never let me call their country small) it is very different. It is not bad or good, just very different. 

9. What career other than yours would you love to pursue?

Theoretically a surgeon, but practically speaking I love my life and work so much that I wouldn't change anything. 

10. What's a job you would definitely never want?

Office job. 

11. Where did you spend your last vacation?

We went with my family to Tisza tó. It was during the pandemic, so we didn't have a lot of options. Surprisingly it was a brilliant experience. We did a bicycle roundtrip of the magnificent lake. I can only recommend that. 

12. Where do you hope to spend your next holiday?

Well, in these circumstances it is impossible to plan. But I can easily dream about Italy, Iceland or Greece. 

13. Apart of temptation what can't you resist?

To participate in interesting projects and collaborate with geniuses. 

14. What was your favourite band, film, or hobby as a teen?

I was keen on "Beatles", I was playing the guitar. Also I read a lot - at that time close to every Russian family had a collection of classical literature. So it was really something that gave me joy. 

15. Red wine or white?

In Hungary it is difficult to decide, so I'm ordering both. But if there is only one option, it would be a nice dry red wine from Szekszárd-region. 

16. Book or movie?

I'm a bookworm, so it is an easy question. Though a good movie is an excellent remedy and sophisticated time spending. Now I'm waiting for the release of Hungarian movie "Natural light" directed by a friend of our family Nagy Denes. 

17. Morning person or night person?

Morning. Maternity taught me to do everything important in the morning as you never know what evening and night is keeping for you. 

18. Which social issue do you feel most strongly about?

Racism, equality of rights and questions about pollution and climate changes. 

19. Buda or Pest side?

I'm living in Pest, so Pest. However, we are planning on moving to Buda side eventually. 

20. What would you say is your personal motto?

I have two mottos and they are very easy. First: Less is more. I'm trying to keep this motto for my work and for everyday life. Second is just one word: Priorities. You can't focus on a lot of things and being good everywhere and for everyone. That is why making priorities helps to focus and move you forward.

  • How does this interview make you feel?