Free Classical Concerts @ Hungarian National Museum, 20 August

  • 18 Aug 2020 8:27 AM
Free Classical Concerts @ Hungarian National Museum, 20 August
On August 20, Hungary's national holiday, the Hungarian National Museum awaits its visitors with a varied and colorful serious music program.

In addition to free admission, everyone who visits the museum can enjoy a special classical concert experience from 3 pm onwards. 


20 August: 2 pm, 3 pm

Members of the trio:
Soós Gabriella - piano
Berta István György - bassoon
István Kaczári - horn


Georg Friedrich Händel: Fireworks Suite - La Réjouissance
Carl Maria von Weber: Bassoon Competition, Op. 75 Lot I.
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Horn Competition II. In D major, K. 412

The Fireworks Suite (HWV 351) is a large-scale orchestral suite written by Georg Friedrich Händel in 1749 for outdoor performance. II. It was composed by King George of England, an incomparably popular court composer, for the celebration of the 1748 Aachen peace treaty with fireworks, which ended the Austrian War of Succession. The suite consists of six items, including the item entitled La Réjouissance - rejoicing.

Mozart wrote all his works for solo horns for Joseph Leutgeb, with whom they knew each other from Salzburg. The author’s concerts written for french horn are actually elegant and funny dialogues between the band and the soloist. Most of the manuscripts also contained quite a few jokes (including quite offensive ones).

20 August: 4 pm


J. S. Bach: Partita (BWV 1013) - Dolfin Benjámin, bassoon
W. A. ​​Mozart: Sonata in C major for cello and bassoon - Dolfin Benjámin, bassoon, Károly Barna, cello

20 August: 5 pm.

W. A. ​​Mozart: Sonata for bassoon and cello - Dolfin Benjámin, bassoon, Károly Barna, cello
Gaspar Cassado: Suite for cello (l., Lll. Movement) - Károly Barna, cello
Johann Sebastian Bach’s solo part, originally written for flute (A minor), is performed in a bassoon transcription (D minor) performed by Benjamin Dolfin

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's Sonata for Cello and Bassoon is characterized by a light and elegant tone of Viennese Classics. The three movements of the work: Allegro, Andante, Rondo (allegro)

The cello suite of Spanish cellist and composer Gaspar Cassado is a very lyrical, emotional solo piece, Spanish pulsation defines the mood of the work.

Photo courtesy of the organisers

  • How does this content make you feel?

Explore More Reports