Zsófi Énekes, Event Manager, Brody Studios

  • 31 Mar 2016 12:00 PM
Zsófi Énekes, Event Manager, Brody Studios
Zsófi spent her formative years in Eger with her two brothers, teacher mother and folk dancer – choreographer father. After taking leading roles in the student and cultural life of the city for years, she continued her studies in adult & continuing education and event management in Debrecen. She moved to Budapest in 2013 right after finishing her master’s degree.

During university years she worked as trainee at an NGO, organizing adult education projects and conferences, thus she tried to find the best fitting job first as a vocational course organizer of a small entrepreneur then as a retail sales trainer at a multinational corporation.

Since she’s always been a big fan of design, arts and music, soon she started longing for something more - that’s when she came across an article about Brody Studios (while getting her hair done at the hairdresser). She started at Brody Studios’ reception desk as a night-time receptionist next to her daytime job and since then she joined the team of Brody House Group as a full-time event manager. She currently handles club happenings, corporate events as well as graphic design and marketing related tasks.

1. Where did you grow up?

In Eger, a small city known for its history and wine – it still has a huge impact on me. I’ve lived 20 minutes from Eger in a village called Maklár, that counts too.

2. If you could be an expat anywhere in the world, where would you choose?
Preferably somewhere in the South… Italy, Portugal, Morocco, Mexico…

3. What would you miss most if you moved away from Hungary?
Every time I pass the border in whichever direction, the first thing I realize is that all the trees and the grass just simply look different. But besides our messy, bushy roadsides and gold crop fields it would be the quality time spent with my family and friends.

4. Friends are in Budapest for a weekend - what must they absolutely see and do?
Not Budapest. I would take them to my family home, do some gardening together then enjoy the bonfire cozied up in blankets, grilling sausage, drinking good wine and chatting about life.

5. What is your favourite food?
Good food.

6. What is your favourite sport / form of exercise?
To watch Olimpics. Also, I use a city bike on a daily basis as my way of transport… I’m not sure it has anything to do with ’sports’?

7. What is your favourite place in Hungary?
I think it’s a place in the future: my own house with a garden.

8. What career other than yours would you love to pursue?
I only like to do what feels good to me. That’s a continous challenge not a career.

9. What’s a job you would definitely never want?
Which I’ve tried and after 3 month I would still not enjoy it. Anything related to math is not my strong point though.

10. Where did you spend your last vacation?
I visited Rome in January. I’ve always wanted to try travelling alone and this was my first solo trip. It’s a great experience especially at the beginning of the year to clear your mind off.

11. Where do you hope to spend your next one?
I’m planning to visit a friend’s farm in Holland. They promised an unwinding few days, eating dirty carrot in the fields, barefoot, thinking of nothing. But if you have a voucher to a 5 star hotel somewhere close to seaside including open bar for cocktails, I’m happy to take that too.

12. What was your favourite band, film, or hobby as a teen?
I usually spent my evenings discovering new music (whether it was among my dad’s cassette collection or trying to find songs from movies online) and doing crafts in my room – my hobby mostly was trying to get away from my brothers who tried to put me in front of the bathroom door as a goalkeeper, and expect me to pretend the bathroom doorstep was a goal line.

13. Apart of temptation what can’t you resist?
Favours and meetings. I’m still learning how to say no.

14. Red wine or white?
Once I’ve been told that the love of red wine comes with age so mostly I’m sticking with white. My more sophisticated answer is obviously: either.

15. Book or movie?
I’m not good at finishing books so I always end up reading 3-4 at the same time. Most of the times it’s just easier to put on a movie. I think I enjoy it more.

16. Morning person or night person?
The creative side of my brain starts to work after 8pm and it never happened to me to wake up feeling full of energy. Whatever it is called, surely not a morning type.

17. Which social issue do you feel most strongly about?
Environmental protection. Green and slow life. Family friendly workplaces. The power of fellowship. Basically everything that makes me cry.

18. Buda or Pest side?
Haven’ t been living in Buda yet but I love Pest.

19. Which achievement in your life are you most pleased about?
About any decision I made and felt releived in the moment I decided. It can be either being chief of the student council, volunteering during university years or quiting a job for another, uncertain one. It’s also really nice to experience that my ex-professors are interested in how I succeed in work and always get back to me with a kind question.

20. What would you say is your personal motto?
As a person who don’t play any instrument neither can draw or paint but still has an urge inside, this feels like mine: ’When I say be creative, I don’t mean that you should all go and become great painters and great poets. I simply mean let your life be a painting, let your life be a poem.’ (Osho)

  • How does this interview make you feel?