Christian Braunschweig, Managing Director, AGS Movers

  • 16 Mar 2021 1:00 PM
Christian Braunschweig, Managing Director, AGS Movers
Christian Braunschweig, the new Managing Director for AGS Budapest Kft., a Pioneer in the mobility industry, AGS Worldwide Movers, is now one of its global leaders, as a result of the innovative vision of its board for the last forty years.

Always keeping in mind the evolution of our customers’ needs, we provide tailor-made services in removals and secure storage worldwide.

Christian has been working in the international removals industry since 2002 and gained management experience in Germany, England and Poland. He is responsible for the management of the AGS branch and the quality of the service rendered to AGS customers worldwide

Christian was first appointed as a Trainee Branch Manager for AGS in Berlin in 2017. Subsequently he was appointed as Branch Manager of AGS in Poland later that same year. 

Christian and his wife Inga became proud parents to their son Noah in May 2020.

With effect from October 2020, Christian Braunschweig was transferred from AGS in Poland to the AGS branch in Budapest, Hungary, replacing Ingrid Lamblin as who has left the group as Branch Manager. 


1. Where did you grow up?

I am from Osnabrück, in Germany, a small town next to the Dutch border in the northwest of Germany. – I was born there, grew up there and was working there until 2015.

2. If you could be an expat anywhere in the world, where would you choose?

I think it doesn´t really make a difference where you live as long as your family is with you and I standing behind you. I lived in a few countries already since 2015 and this will go on with a change of country every 3-5 years. I hope for Netherlands or Austria in Europe, South Africa in Africa or Shanghai in Asia. But as I said, your home is where the family is with you and standing behind you, no matter where you live at the moment.

3. What would you miss most if you moved away from Hungary?

As I just came here during the COVID crisis, I don’t really know much about the city itself. I can just say that I will miss the nice people here that are very open minded for foreigners speaking only English, this was unfortunately not the case in other countries I have been.

4. Friends are in Budapest for a weekend - what must they absolutely see and do?

I would definitely go for the old market hall, the only thing i discovered thanks to Covid so far. I guess there are a lot of nice museums etc. that i just need to discover after the crisis is over.

5. What is your favourite food?

Good Question... I have a favourite in every kitchen that is existing on the planet, in Hungary i would go for „Gulyás”.

6. What is your favourite sport / form of exercise?

Swimming and golf, swimming I am waiting for the chance to do it here in Hungary and the Golf Courts will be discovered from me in the summer.

7. What is your favourite place in Hungary?

Lake Balaton, great for a weekend out of home to relax and recover for the upcoming challenges.

8. What career other than yours would you love to pursue?

No other career. I live my dream, doing what I love. I grew up in the moving industry with our own family company for moving and storage founded in 1950. I washed the first trucks on our yard when was 9 years old and really grew up in this industry.

9. What’s a job you would definitely never want?

I have the biggest respect for people that work in the care section, taking care about elderly people for example. I could not imagine me in this role.

10. Where did you spend your last vacation?

In Austria, Fulpmes, a hotel next to a ski slope on 1.650m.

11. Where do you hope to spend your next one?

We are planning to have a big family holiday with our parents and parents in law in Spain or Turkey this year, let’s wait what COVID will say to this.

13. Apart of temptation what can't you resist?

The homemade meatballs of my wife! 😊 and all new challenges on the job coming up day to day.

14. Red wine or white?

I don’t drink alcohol usually. But if I have to, then please white wine.

15. Book or movie?

Movie. Love to spend time together with my wife on the sofa on a weekend watching movies.

16. Morning person or night person?

Morning 100%. I get up at 4:30am without alarm and go to the office at 6am because I like to. Some people don’t understand this, but I like to have some time to work concentrated in the morning hours without getting interrupted from phone calls, emails or employees coming into my office having questions etc.

17. Which social issue do you feel most strongly about?

Homeless people in Hungary. I have been to a lot of countries, and I never saw so many homeless people than in Budapest. I think this is something that they should take care about.

18. Buda or Pest side?

As usual in life... everything got pros and cons. I work on Buda side in the south of Budapest and live on the Pest side in the 9th district. I am very happy about this situation, at home I have all shops in walk distance around my home, restaurants etc. every few meter and from my office on the 4th floor i have a beautiful view on the Danube River and the City of Budapest.

19. Which achievement in your life are you most pleased about?

The birth of my son Noah, 15th of May 2020 at 3pm. 61cm and 4.460gramm. I never thought before that I can love someone in this level. Apart from this, I am pleased about the achievement being in the company that I am, AGS is the world biggest moving company, and me as a born moving guy feel very well to have the opportunity to be in the company travelling around the world working in different countries. I would not change it!

20. What would you say is your personal motto? 
"If you can´t fly then run,
If you can´t run then walk,
If you can´t walk then crawl,
But whatever you do
You have to keep moving forward!" - 
Martin Luther King Jr. 

  • How does this interview make you feel?