Péter Sebestyén, Head of Dotcom, Tesco Hungary

  • 31 Mar 2013 12:00 PM
Péter Sebestyén, Head of Dotcom, Tesco Hungary
Summary of Career at Tesco Hungary

Head of e-commerce: 12/2014 - until present

OPs Manager GM 04/2014 - 12/2014

Commercial Category Buying Manager 06/2012 - 04/2014

Commercial Fresh Category Buying Manager 12/2011 - 05/2012

Buyer / Return To Vendor Manager / Shop Manager 2010 - 2011

Senior MerchPlanner Commercial 2008 - 2010

MerchPlanner Commercial 05/2006 - 2008

1. Where did you grow up?

In Sopron, where I attended primary and secondary school, before moving to Dunaújváros for college. As fresh graduate I came to Budapest, and after 2.5 years working at in Auchan I joined Tesco, and have been working happily here now for years.

2. If you could be an expat anywhere in the world, where would you choose?
I love England, where the moral approach to life is better than in some other countries, such as France perhaps. The way Brits communicate with each other is something I like, but on the other hand the weather there isn’t so good ;) I could imagine working in the U.S. and in the Far East, but my wife would have a thing or two to say about this matter too.

3. What would you miss most if you moved away from Hungary?
My family - my home is where my family is, and I would really miss my brother and friends, and I’d miss Túró Rudi ;)

4. Friends are in Budapest for a weekend - what must they absolutely see and do?
Naturally it depends on the age of the guest. Generally speaking, I would show them why Budapest is one of the most beautiful cities in the world. We’d explore Buda, the Castle, the bridges, and the ruin pubs in Pest. If we didn’t just focus on Budapest, it would be great to show them Balaton in summertime, especially Siófok. I’d also love to take visiting guests to Pécs and Miskolc - to show them some tradition life, including that of the Romani population, to understand their culture and their dance - which is obviously a very different side of Hungarian life, which I’m sure would prove interesting.

5. What is your favourite food?
My Mum’s cooking – like a good son I enjoy practically everything she prepares. A favourite dish I’d recommend all expats try is krumplis tészta with kovászos uborka (Hungarian style potato pasta with Fermented Dill Pickles). I really like Italian food, too.

6. What is your favourite sport / form of exercise?
Football as a hobby with my colleagues. I play American football as well, and we will go to Wembley this October because my favourite team from the U.S. will go to play there in the UK.

7. What is your favourite place in Hungary?
A lovely village called Pápóc, with only 300 local people, where my Mum was born. I spent half of my youth there in the safe, green environment, and can really relax when there.

8. What career other than yours would you love to pursue?
All is good now, I love my job, I have a great family, and our first baby just arrived. If I really had to choose something else then I would be a sportsman, I say that because maybe sport is currently missing from my busy life.

9. What’s a job you would definitely never want?
A doctor, you have to give 100% every second of every day since it’s such a huge responsibility

10. Where did you spend your last vacation?
In the countryside with my family, visiting my Mum.

11. Where do you hope to spend your next one?
Currently we are focused on life at home with our baby is born. All being well we will go - with my brother’s family and Mum, the eight of us - to Balaton for a week in summer. I also have a plan to go to Croatia with my friends for another week after that if possible.

12. What was your favourite band, film, or hobby as a teen?
Hobby: sports – I tried a lot of them. American football, baseball, croquette, mostly sports with balls and teams. Also I still go out running.
Music – I was a rock fun: Nirvana, Red Hot Chilli Peppers, Led Zeppelin, Black Sabbath. I am also a drummer as well, and play in a band with my colleagues.
Film: One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest.

13. Apart of temptation what can’t you resist?
I really like sweets. Milka chocolate in particular. Also I really like Terry’s Chocolate Oranges from the U.K.

14. Red wine or white?
Red, mainly from the Villányi Region, plus I found some really good read near Sopron, from the Wenninger winery.

15. Book or movie?
Both. Sometimes I really get focused on reading, and sometimes I enjoy watching films. I saw the ‘Danish Girl’ movie recently, and that’s the sort of film I enjoy, ones that make me think. Currently I’m reading the ‘Smart Baby’ (Bőlcs Baba) ;)

16. Morning person or night person?

17. Which social issue do you feel most strongly about?
The homeless issue is a critical problem during winter. I feel for them and I help them whenever I can. Also the migration situation since it affects everyday life in various ways.

18. Buda or Pest side?
I lived in Pest for eight years, and spent the last six in Buda. They both have interesting aspects. Pest always has fresh things to offer. If I had to choose, well, I’d say Budaörs. I live there now, and there are a lot of opportunities, for shopping, sport, restaurants... I really like it here.

19. Which achievement in your life are you most pleased about?
This has to be a two part answer. First my personal life. I am really happy where I am now, with my first baby and my wife. Understanding how life changes and also implementing changes in life is so important. Once I make a decision I move forward. Work wise, let’s say I came from not a rich family, my Mum is a carpenter, my Father is a mechanic, and I’m in a leadership position now, thanks to family support and because I worked hard to achieve this position.

20. What would you say is your personal motto?
Do what you can today, don't put it off until tomorrow.

  • How does this interview make you feel?