XpatLoop Interview: Michele Colangelo, General Manager, Meth E&C International Kft

  • 24 Jan 2017 11:00 AM
XpatLoop Interview: Michele Colangelo, General Manager, Meth E&C International Kft
My name’s Michele, I was born in Napoli 31 years ago and moved in Budapest in 2012. With a degree in Economics and Business Administration and after some years spent in corporate, I decided to try “the leap”, leaving the 9to5 job and dedicating my time and energies to personal activities and goals.

As I had the chance to get in touch with 3D printing technology, I got enthusiastic and I started studying about the wide range of its applications in multiple fields and the different technologies available and under development; this led me to establish a start up company in Italy with 3 smart young fellows in the field of biomedical services, using the 3D printing technology and innovative softwares.

Based on these experiences, I came to the idea that everybody should be offered the possibility of getting closer to this technology, that some authors define as one of the main bases which the 4th Industrial Revolution is lying on; this is one of the main features that, together with a young and talented French partner, Ms Margaux de la Roche, inspired the creation of the Cafè des Arts & Innovation, recently opened downtown Budapest.

The Cafè is a really mixed place, with different souls: it is a French based bistro, with great quality wines and craft beers, it is a coworking place, it is a location for art exhibitions, live concerts and gathering for different and international communities, and in the upcoming months the 3D printing area will be open and available to the public for productions, prototyping, education and trainings.

Our joint aim is to offer a place to a different range of people, from starts-ups to artists, from students to engineers, either from Hungary or from the growing Xpat community, to meet up, share ideas, develop projects and creating a dynamic and vibrant community.

The project is ambitious, is just 3 months old and there is still a lot of work to do, but Budapest is definitely the right place where to be, as it is booming in terms of innovation and young and clever people moving around!

1. When did you arrive in Hungary and what brought you here?
I moved in Bp in 2012, February, during one of the coldest winters of the last 10 years! After a couple of years of work in Italy, I wanted to face new challenges and I got a 3 months contract with the consulting company ITL Group. Together with the head of Marketing, Mr Luigino Bottega, we created the first edition of the Budapest Business Party, hosted by Paris Budapest Restaurant. Afterwards, I’ve been working for four years in corporate.

2. Have you ever been an expatriate elsewhere?
Not really, though I’ve been always in motion. I was born and raised in Napoli, I lived in different cities in Italy and had participated in project in Shangai (2011) with the Italian Government, but just for a month.

3. What surprised you most about Hungary?

I was actually not new in town. Since 2007, I’ve been visiting this marvellous city, coming to see friends and enjoy the atmosphere that has no equal in Europe, in my opinion. What surprise me the most now, after 5 years, that I’m never tired of this city.

4. Friends are in Budapest for a weekend - what must they absolutely see and do?
A walk in the Castle area, spending the sunset at the Fishermen Bastions. And, Rudas Furdo at night, amazing!

5. What is your favourite Hungarian food?
Lots of. Toltott paprika is the first which comes to my mind. But also Hortobagy Palacsinta, almost any kind of soups (except the sweet ones, brrr...) and some sweets as well.

6. What is never missing from your refrigerator?
Italian cheese, and a good bottle of wine.

7. What is your favourite Hungarian word?
Egészségedre, for sure!

8. What do you miss the most from home?
I think the seaside and seafood. Luckily, I can be back home in less than two hours, thanks to low cost flights!

9. What career other than yours would you love to pursue?
In the future, I would love to participate in projects for sustainable energies and development, maybe in Latino-America.

10. What's a job you would definitely never want?
Every job has its challenges and things to learn from, I guess. Maybe, I could never been a surgeon, I am too impressionable...

11. Where did you spend your last vacation?
Home, in Napoli. Before that, I drove to Croatia for some sun&sea.

12. Where do you hope to spend your next one?
I would love to go to Costarica.

13. What was your favourite band, film, or hobby as a teen?
One of my hobby is definitely music; I’ve been singing in bands for the last 15 years.

14. Apart of temptation what can't you resist?
Food, totally!

15. Red wine or white?
Red & dry.

16. Book or movie?
Both, depends by the mood. Maybe books a bit more.

17. Morning person or night person?

In this last period, I am discovering all the great points of waking up early to plan the day and start with the turbo. But nothing is comparable to a lazy Sunday morning.

18. Which social issue do you feel most strongly about?
Environment, clean energy and the increasing of populism and apathy of the majority of people. We are in an extremely critical moment of our history, awareness and self responsibility are key points in these days.

19. Buda side or Pest side?
Buda side, totally. I love waking up with birds and being surrounded by trees!

20. What would you say is your personal motto?
Dream, visualize, plan, achieve.

  • How does this interview make you feel?