Eva Gellert, Personal Style & Wardrobe Consultant

  • 2 Jan 2021 1:06 PM
Eva Gellert, Personal Style & Wardrobe Consultant
Eva describes herself as a "personal color-style-and wardrobe consultant" at ColourMyStyle, working with Hungarian and international clients in both Hungarian and English.

She recently moved back to her hometown of Budapest after 10 years living and working in Boston. She lives with her husband and two daughters in Buda. 

1. Where did you grow up?

I grew up in both the Pest and Buda sides of the city. 

2. If you could be an expat anywhere in the world, where would you choose?

I was in Mallorca in the summer of 2019 for two weeks and fell in love with the place. I admired how old buildings were kept beautifully and yet transformed into something new like one of the many beautiful boutique hotels in Palma. I also loved how colorful people dressed even in their everyday life. It’s still on my list to stay longer there than just a few weeks at a time.

3. What would you miss most if you moved away from Hungary?

I did move away from Hungary and apart from my family and friends, I missed the Hungarian theaters and the vibrant cultural life tremendously. 

4. Friends are in Budapest for a weekend - what must they absolutely see and do?

Start your walk in the Castle District then pick up a coffee and pastry at Déryné and continue your journey along the Chain Bridge toward the Pest side. Visit the Széchenyi Bath and explore one of the art exhibitions in the Museum of Fine Arts located on the beautiful Heroes’ Square afterwards. End your night around the Bazilika sipping a glass of delicious Hungarian wine and watch the trendy mix of locals and tourists. 

5. What is your favourite food?

There is a place in Boston called Life Alive with all these amazing vegetarian bowls, smooties and salads. I could live on these forever. I also like to indulge with good Indian food. 

6. What is your favourite sport / form of exercise?

I love barre workouts. It’s a combination of ballet, yoga, pilates and exercises using your own body weight. I am also a certified barre teacher and would love to spread the barre love in Budapest after the pandemic ends.

7. What is your favourite place in Hungary?

When I was a child, I spent many summers in Lillafüred. I feel very nostalgic about lake Hámori, the caves and hiking trails and cannot wait to show them to my daughters soon.

8. What career other than yours would you love to pursue?

I am a people person, so daily interactions with other people is a key for my well-being. I work with clients improving their personal appearance and self-confidence but I also want to dig deeper in the subjects of color theory & fashion history and eventually teach it. 

9. What’s a job you would definitely never want?

I used to work in a regular 9-5 office job with very limited creativity in my work and it would be hard to go back to this setting. 

10. Where did you spend your last vacation?

We arrived in Budapest last August and my vacation included setting up our new home and schools for my daughters. It was nothing fancy but felt rewarding making this decision to move back and actually acting on it. 

11. Where do you hope to spend your next one?

I would love to visit Sarajevo. Since I lived in the US for more than 10 years, I miss traveling around Europe where you can see so many different places within a short plane ride. Sarajevo has a calling for me and my plan is to make a road trip out of it. Hope the summer of ‘21 will be less restricted than the past one.

12. What was your favourite band, film, or hobby as a teen? 

 I always liked reading a book or watching a movie about strong or interesting female characters. My favorites include: Anne of Green Gables, Sisi (Elisabeth) and the movie La Boom. 

13. Apart of temptation what can't you resist?

I have a sweet tooth and a good cup of masala chai is also on the top of my list. 

14. Red wine or white?

Both depending on my mood/food I eat or the seasons. I love fröccs during the summer which is a good white or rosé wine mixed with sparkling water. 

15. Book or movie?

I am a huge fan of both. I also started a Hungarian book club for Hungarians living in Boston 3 years ago. We try to meet up online now because of the pandemic and my sudden move to Hungary. I also love books adapted into tv series, for example, My brilliant friend by Elena Ferrante.

16. Morning person or night person?

I can be both but my husband is definitely a night person and he keeps me up later than I usually plan to, so I am a night person for now. :)

17. Which social issue do you feel most strongly about?

Empowering women is very important to me because I am raising two young girls of mine. I want them to feel they can be anyone and chose to do anything if they work hard and believe in themselves. I feel strongly about raising the glass ceiling for them no matter where we live.

18. Buda or Pest side?

Buda to live and Pest to work and socialize. They complement each other. :)

19. Which achievement in your life are you most pleased about?

I gave birth to my two daughters living in another country far from my family. It was hard but very formative experience to create new friendships and find my new identity and my own way to raise bilingual kids. 

20. What would you say is your personal motto? 

“Done is better than perfect.” I tend to be a perfectionist and this motto helps me to keep things in perspective. 

You can contact Eva at info@colourmystyle.hu

  • How does this interview make you feel?