Péter Sipos, Managing Director, MINICARDS Hungary

  • 30 Aug 2023 7:52 AM
Péter Sipos, Managing Director, MINICARDS Hungary
Péter worked in hotels for 20 years in the front office department as a concierge and head concierge (Fórum Hotel, Kempinski Hotel).

Based on the experience and contactshe gained there, he introduced MINICARDS in Hungary, a worldwide tourism marketing system, which has been operating successfully for 20 years.

1. Where did you grow up?

I am from Budapest, and I grew up here, but I also spent a lot of time with my grandparents in Esztergom as a child.

2. If you could be an expat anywhere in the world, where would you choose?

Certainly, a country with lots of sunshine and good weather, Spain could be a good choice.

3. What would you miss most if you moved away from Hungary?

Friends, sport companions, and the football matches and canoe trips with them. Also, I would miss Hungarian cuisine a lot such as poppy seed pasta.

4. Friends are in Budapest for a weekend - what must they absolutely see and do?

Of course, the main attractions of Budapest cannot be missed, such as a walk in the Castle District, the Parliament, Heroes' Square, the Synagogue. A Danube cruise is also a must, even in the evening with dinner. Besides these, I would also point you to the “Római part”, where you can watch the boats floating on the Danube from a deckchair directly on the bank, or if you are a bit sportier, you can rent a kayak or canoe for a short trip on the water.

5. What is your favourite food?

Beef tops with potato dumplings.

6. What is your favourite sport / form of exercise?

I used to canoe when I was young, and I still regularly go canoeing with my old sports friends. And football above all, to do and to watch as well. I also play regularly as a hobby and in my age group leagues.

7. What is your favourite place in Hungary?

Apart from Budapest, Esztergom is my favourite Hungarian city, perhaps also because of my childhood memories.

8. What career other than yours would you love to pursue?

I would have loved to become a professional footballer and then a player agent.

9. What’s a job you would definitely never want?

I am not very good at handcraft and DIY projects, so these kinds of jobs wouldn’t suit me.

10. Where did you spend your last vacation?

In Spain, Costa Blanca. It’s such an amazing place, people are extraordinarily friendly, the weather is great, and Mediterranean cuisine is excellent.

11. Where do you hope to spend your next one?

I am planning to visit my daughter in Berlin, which is every time a cultural and culinary adventure, as we share these passions with her.

12. What was your favourite band, film, or hobby as a teen?

My favourite band is the Hungarian LGT, favourite movie is Forget Paris, and my hobby is any kind of sport..

13. Apart from temptation what can't you resist?

Tuna, in all forms.

14. Red wine or white?

White wine, but I prefer spritzer (wine with soda) more.

15. Book or movie?

I mostly watch series lately, but I always fall asleep with a book.

16. Morning person or night person?

I have more energy in the morning.

17. Which social issue do you feel most strongly about?

Based on my age (unfortunately) the problems of health care and the situation of pensioners and elderly people. There are a lot of problems with education in this country, but this affects neither me personally, nor my child anymore.

18. Buda or Pest side?

Buda, including Óbuda. But in between, Margaret Island is a great place!

19. Which achievement in your life are you most pleased about?

I am proud of launching, building, and running a business successfully for over 20 years.

20. What would you say is your personal motto?

A pessimist sees difficulty in every opportunity; an optimist sees opportunity in every difficulty. W. Churchill - I would always like to be one of the latter.

  • How does this interview make you feel?