World Heritage In Hungary

  • 31 Jan 2017 9:00 AM
World Heritage In Hungary
From culture and architecture to the wonders of nature, Hungary is a country with an extremely rich historic past and blessed with natural wonders. The country currently has 8 UNESCO World Heritage Sites, 7 in the cultural and one in the natural category. Let us visit three of them!

Enchanting panorama of the Hungarian capital is world famous. Budapest, including the Banks of the Danube, the Buda Castle Quarter and Andrássy Avenue were inscribed on the World Heritage List in 1987 (extended in 2002). The city was created by unifying three independent settlements in 1872-73.

The beautiful landscape is emphasized with architectural wonders: medieval buildings of the Castle District, historic and Art Nouveau architecture of Pest. It is characterized by grand boulevards and avenues like Andrássy út, and gracious bridges spanning the Danube river.

Old village of Hollókő and it's surroundings, situated 100 kms from Budapest, were inscribed on the list also in 1987. Not only village houses and the church, but also the landscape surrounding them and a ruined castle are part of the World Heritage site. The residents of this village are the Palóc people. Besides their special dialect, they retain their traditions and their colourful, richly decorated folk costumes. At the more important festivals they still wear these traditional folk costumes.

Majestic Puszta, Hortobágy is the largest continuous natural grassland in Europe, which means that it was not formed as a result of deforestation or river control. Hortobágy has outstanding natural features, maintaining great biological diversity in respect of species and habitats. It is a unique example of the harmonious coexistence of people and nature based on the considerate use of the land.


Republished with permission

  • How does this content make you feel?