New Hungarian Government Members Announced

  • 2 May 2018 7:23 AM
  • Hungary Matters
New Hungarian Government Members Announced
Prime Minister Viktor Orbán has informed senior officials of the ruling Fidesz and Christian Democrat parties about the composition of the new government entering office after the inaugural session of parliament in the weeks to come, the prime minister’s spokesman said.

Gergely Gulyás, Fidesz’s parliamentary group leader, will head the prime minister’s office, and Antal Rogán will keep his job as cabinet chief.

Zsolt Semjén will remain deputy prime minister responsible for Hungarian communities abroad, church policy and national minorities.

Sándor Pintér will continue to serve as interior minister, László Trócsányi as justice minister, Péter Szijjártó as minister of foreign affairs and trade, and János Süli as minister without portfolio responsible for the upgrade of the Paks nuclear plant.

Chief-of-Staff Tibor Benkő will become defence minister, and National Oncology Institute head Miklós Kásler will take over from Zoltán Balog as human resources minister.

Mihály Varga, the current economy minister, will carry on as finance minister, and Andrea Bártfai-Mager will become a minister without portfolio in charge of managing national assets.

State secretary István Nagy will take over the farm ministry from Sándor Fazekas.

László Palkovics, formerly the state secretary for higher education, will head a new ministry for higher education and innovation.

  • How does this content make you feel?

XpatLoop Media Partner

Hungary Matters

Launched in January 2014, this twice-daily newsletter covers 'everything you need to know about what’s going on in Hungary and beyond', according to its publisher the state media agency MTI. Click the title above for more info, and to subscribe.

Explore More Reports

  • Hungarian Science Academy Board Requests Talks On Research Institutes

    Hungarian Science Academy Board Requests Talks On Research Institutes

    • 14 Feb 2019 7:54 AM

    The board of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences (MTA) has appointed MTA president László Lovász to initiate talks with the innovation and technology minister on the government’s plans to reorganise the structure and funding of the academy’s research institutes.

  • Hungarian Opinion: Controversy Over Research Reform Plans

    Hungarian Opinion: Controversy Over Research Reform Plans

    • 11 Feb 2019 8:05 AM

    As the government plans a radical overhaul of the structure of scientific research, a historian critical of the government calls for a concerted protest against those plans, while his pro-government colleague accuses him of harbouring anti-democratic intentions.

  • Local Opinion: New & Old Arguments About CEU In Hungary

    Local Opinion: New & Old Arguments About CEU In Hungary

    • 6 Nov 2018 7:11 AM

    A pro-government commentator accuses the CEU of not meeting the Hungarian regulations that would allow it to issue US accredited degrees in Budapest. Left-wing and liberal columnists, on the other hand, think that the government is persecuting the university founded by George Soros for political reasons.