Photos: President Appoints New Ministers

  • 18 May 2018 10:38 AM
  • Hungary Matters
Photos: President Appoints New Ministers
Hungarian president János Áder on Friday formally appointed the ministers of Prime Minister Viktor Orbán’s fourth government.

Zsolt Semjén (pictured below, left) is deputy prime minister and minister without portfolio in charge of Hungarian communities abroad, church affairs and national minorities.

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister Without Portfolio

Sándor Pintér continues as interior minister while Mihály Varga will head the new finance ministry. Both have been appointed as deputy prime ministers.


Gergely Gulyás has been appointed minister heading the Prime Minister’s Office.

László Trócsányi stays on as justice minister as does Antal Rogán as head of the Cabinet Office.

Péter Szijjártó remains in charge of the foreign affairs and trade ministry and János Süli continues as minister without portfolio in charge of the upgrade of the Paks nuclear power plant.

Tibor Benkő is the new defence minister and Andrea Bártfai-Mager the minister without portfolio in charge of national assets.

László Palkovics will head the new innovation and technology ministry. István Nagy is the new minister of agriculture and rural development and Miklós Kasler will head the human resources ministry.

MTI Photo: Szigetváry Zsolt / Kovács Tamás

  • How does this content make you feel?

XpatLoop Media Partner

Hungary Matters

Launched in January 2014, this twice-daily newsletter covers 'everything you need to know about what’s going on in Hungary and beyond', according to its publisher the state media agency MTI. Click the title above for more info, and to subscribe.

Explore More Reports